My Cover For “One By One” Thriller!!!

For anyone who’s been following My Writer’s Blog since the beginning, you’re aware that I started it to document my writing journey as well as my journey on getting published. I had focused on my first novel Something’s Amiss, then NaNoWriMo came into my life, causing me to shift gears toward One By One.

I’m happy to announce that I received my book cover last Monday! I had browsed Absolute Write Forums under Self-Publishing. I found a member offering free services–she wants to build her portfolio so eventually she can start a cover design business.

Sandra Giles was professional and very efficient. I contacted her on November 1st (Thursday) and received my mock cover on November 5th (Monday). After listening to my suggestions, I received my final proof the same day.

Cover Design: Sandra Giles

Now that I have my book cover image, I need to continue with my business plan:

  • Get an author photo taken
  • Create an author page on Facebook
  • If I could figure out my image widget, then I could display my books on the sidebar
  • Write a blurb and add a “One By One” tab to my blog
  • Hoping my book release date can be early to mid 2013 (it’ll depend on how long the process takes with editors)

Wish me luck!

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

14 thoughts on “My Cover For “One By One” Thriller!!!

  1. I get a signed copy of the first book along with photo taken with author. (i will pay for the book of course)

    ________________________________

  2. Cool!!! Congratulations, Yawatta!! You’re on your way! I just realized your book is a thriller…I hope its not going to be too scary for me to read (since I’ve been anxiously waiting for it).

    • LOL I don’t think it’ll be too scary. It’s not about ghosts or anything supernatural. However, if you get easily spooked like me (especially on events that could happen in real life) then you may be frightened 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. I’m moving steady but surely. I was hoping I would’ve found a second job by now so it’d take sooner rather than later to save up money for my publishing adventure. Oh well, that’s the way the cookie crumble sometimes.

    • Thanks Poppy!
      It’s easy to write a list, but congratulate me when I actually do something off my list LOL. I’m a huge procrastinator but trying to beat that habit.

      I noticed a lot of pictures on your sidebar. How did you use your image widget?

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • I have a Photo Bucket account. I upload my pictures there, and then just copy and paste the code to the photo widget. You can also post pics with a link. Let me know if you need help doing it!

      • I definitely need help LOL.

        I want to put my blog awards and book cover on the sidebar. If it’s free, I should open up a Photo Bucket account. That sounds like the easiest way.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

        P.S. I googled for information and it said to put the images you want on a ‘new post’, save it but don’t publish it. From there, the image widget should work. But it didn’t when I tried.

  3. I’m not sure why it told you to do that! Here’s what I do:
    1. Upload my photo to photobucket
    2. Once it’s uploaded click on the photo and choose “Get Media Links”
    3. Click on “Direct Link” and it will copy the text for you.
    4. Then head back over to your dashboard. Click Apperance –> Widgets
    5. Drop and drag the “image” widget to your sidbar
    6. Then Open it and past the text into the “Image URL” box.
    7. You can also add a link to the photo, or even re-size it. The book cover I have on my sidebar is 190 (W) by 300 (H)

    Hope that helps! Let me know if you have more questions. I’m more than happy to answer them!

    • Thanks Poppy for taking the time to help me. I did notice that each photo had a link to it. I typed it in manually; my mistake must of been that I didn’t copy and paste. If that doesn’t work, then I’ll open a photo bucket account and go from there.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. Thanks again! Your instructions sound easier to follow then the advice I received before LOL

Leave a Reply

