Wait. What? We Never Dated

I was minding my own business in my room when my freshmen roommate walked in, drunk. She was giddy because she had just partied with a bunch of guys I graduated high school with. Then out of nowhere, she said (well, slurred her speech hee hee), “I met your ex. He’s so sweet.”

Say what now? I never dated in school; I didn’t even get the courage to flirt with the opposite sex until my college years LOL. Intrigued by this new development, I asked her who it was. Her response: “Why ask a question you already know the answer to?” So, I had to play the guessing game for about 15 minutes. Good times. Good times.

Finally, she gave me a name. I told her that he wasn’t my ex because we never dated. She called me bitchy for not claiming him. Then, she told me everything he had said at the party about “us.”

I don’t confront people, but if I ever saw him on campus, I would’ve brought this lie up. Not rude. Not straightforward–no need for him to put his guard up. I would’ve probably joked about it to see how he reacted. I never got the chance because I don’t think he attended WVU (only his friends did, which I never saw them on campus either).

Fast forward, 10 years later. I joked with my cousin that she should invite him to hang out with us at my class reunion (she is friends with him). She told me to leave him alone because we could never be friends.

Say what now? What did I do? Is he upset over something imaginary?

I’m still disappointed that our class reunion was canceled indefinitely. If I wasn’t lazy, I would so try to plan one hee hee.

Any theories why he told my roommate we were exes (she said she told the guys that me and her lived together. That’s what started the topic of our “relationship”)?

  • Too drunk to think straight?
  • To get my attention?
  • A joke taken seriously?
  • Didn’t think she would really tell me?
  • Etc?

It’s funny because Bones had a funny episode where Vincent is going around telling all the ladies he works with that he’s sorry for telling his friends that he slept with them. That he had been drunk. I just chalked my old friend’s (ex?) behavior to that. Still doesn’t explain why we could never be friends.

Oh well, that’s one mystery that will never be solved.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

