Yawatta Hosby In A Nutshell

Do you think authors are hard to approach? I’ve heard through the grapevine that’s a stereotype for us. That we’re unapproachable. The majority of the writers/authors I meet in person are shy like me. We bond over our shared interest. So the question becomes: do you choose the profession or does the profession choose you?

I often wonder if I’m the Kristen Stewart of writers. Do I appear awkward in my own skin in front of strangers, even among friends? I’ve been a fan of hers since Panic Room, and I defend her personality any time someone tries to call her names. I know what it’s like to be judged, to be called snobby, boring, bitchy, ice queen, deadpan, without someone getting to know me first. Once we become friends or acquaintances, then they see the real me.  So, I sympathize with Kristen; she’s in the public eye–the public can be ruthless. At least with me, I can sit in the corner, going unnoticed, enjoying my peace.

Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve been obsessed with taking personality quizzes. I found my old notebook (started filling out pages since freshmen in college) with my quiz results. How approachable or unapproachable am I? You guys be the judge:

FRIENDSHIP

HR Department-31 to 40 points (33 pts)

Others see you as sensible, cautious, careful and practical. They see you as clever, gifted or talented, but modest…Not a person who makes friends too quickly or easily, but someone who’s extremely loyal to friends you do make and who expect the same loyalty in return. Those who really get to know you realize it takes a lot to shake your trust in friends, but equally important that it takes you a long time to get over it if that trust is ever broken.

How well do you get along with others?

You can make friends with anyone and are always interested in what people have to say, but you can also spend time alone quite happily and without getting bored. You don’t overreact to things around you, and people consider you to be bit of a cool cucumber.

The secret of the fourth coin

Friendship is what you’re looking for. You want your relationship to be balanced between give and take, not too sweet nor romantic.

What type of personality do you have? A kind and gentle person

Your kindness is your charm–you are also gentle and sweet. Everybody likes to be around people with your personality. Like a psychologist, people like to talk to you to discuss their problems because you are proper and discrete, as well as confident. You look mature and people respect you. People with this kind of character are few and far between.

DATING

The squirrel

If someone who isn’t your type pledges their love for you, how do you handle the situation? You are considerate so they will only get your smile as a reply.

What’s your break-up style? Results: Let’s stay friends

Relationships are fine with you, but they’re not that important. You’d rather avoid the drama and have fun. So when it comes to breaking up, you try to get the ugly part over with and move as fast as you can into being pals. That’s a cool attitude to have, but be careful. Even the shortest relationships need a little healing time. We recommend taking a little break from your ex before diving right into friendship. Even if you don’t need the separation, your ex probably does.

What type of boyfriend/girlfriend is right for you? The artistic and confident type

You need a partner who quietly draws the real you out. Your partner must understand that you are very self-satisfied; therefore, you might not always be the best communicator. You need someone that loves to have fun, but also has the capability of concentrating on a great classic film. A creative and confident prospective is what you need. Stay far away from the needy ones!

What color heart do you have? Your heart is blue

Love is a doing word for you. You know it’s love when you treat each other well. You are a giving lover, but you don’t give too much. You expect something in return. Your flirting style: friendly. Your lucky first date: lunch at an outdoor cafe. Your dream lover: is both generous and selfish. What you bring to the relationship: loyalty.

PERSONALITY

How do you communicate? You communicate with your eyes

When you say, “I’ll believe it when I see it”–you really mean it. For you, what you see is a lot more important than what you hear. You don’t take someone’s words at face value. You judge people by their facial expressions, body language, and appearance. You tend to be quiet, but when you talk, you tend to make eye contact and describe things in colorful detail.

What number are you? You are 4: the individualist

You are sensitive and intuitive, with others and yourself. You are creative and dreamy…plus dramatic and unpredictable. You’re emotionally honest, real, and easily hurt. Totally expressive, others always know exactly how you feel. At your best: you are inspired, artistic, and introspective. You know what you’re thinking, and you can communicate it well. At your worst: you are melancholy, alienated, and withdrawn. Your fixation: envy. Your primary fear: to have no identity. Your primary desire: to find yourself. Other number 4’s: Alanis Morisette, Johnny Depp, J.D. Salinger, Jim Morrison, and Anne Rice.

What color is your brain? Your brain is purple

Of all the brain types, yours is the most idealistic. You tend to think wild, amazing thoughts. Your dreams and fantasties are intense. Your thoughts are creative, inventive, and without boundaries. You tend to spend a lot of time thinking of fictional people and places–or a very different life for yourself.

Check out your fear factor

You are easy-going. You understand the difference between fact and fiction. You like to research on your fears before getting nervous about it. This way you avoid unnecessary panic.

————-

So, from this information, do you think I’m worth the effort of getting to know? To see for yourself how I am instead of relying on someone else’s opinion?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

6 thoughts on “Yawatta Hosby In A Nutshell

  1. I don’t think you’re hard to approach at all Yawatta. 🙂 I don’t know you very well yet, but to me you come across as very warm and friendly. And your comments are always kind.

    I do wonder if shyness is a writer thing in general though? I’m very shy in person, and very quiet. Lol, and I have been told I’m hard to approach, although I don’t really know why since I like pretty much everyone. 🙂 I do know I am awkward in conversation if I don’t know a person well – I tend to overthink my answers, or stutter/say the wrong words when I’m nervous. And the blushing! Oh, the blushing. My nemesis. If I first meet someone and feel nervous I turn a shade of red somewhere between fuscia and scarlet. And it is not subtle.

    I know it’s easier said than done, but don’t be discouraged when someone misunderstands you. If they don’t take the time to really talk to you so they can get an idea of who you really are, then that is their loss. You are absolutely worth getting to know. 🙂

    • Thanks Paige,
      I’m very quiet too (hence the label boring). I don’t open up at all until I get to know someone, then I never shut up LOL. I stutter and trip over my words too when I first meet someone! Or constantly look down until I feel comfortable making eye contact. When someone talks to me at the beginning, it’s like pulling teeth, I guess. But if they can get past that first meeting, then it’s all gravy from there.

      I’m happy I’m not the only one very shy and quiet 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

