Book Review: Beyond The Eyes By Rebekkah Ford

Paige knows evil exists in this world, but she never imagined it would want something from her.

After a ghostly voice whispers a haunting message to seventeen-year-old Paige Reed, Paige’s life takes a nightmarish turn. Unwilling to tell her friends about the supernatural occurrences happening in her life, Paige feels more alone than ever–until she meets Nathan Caswell.

Nathan is not only hot, but seems to peer into Paige’s soul, evoking a magnetic energy between them that cannot be denied. But he’s no ordinary guy. He tracks dark spirits, and becomes alarmed when they set their sights on Paige.

And then there are the two power-hungry dark spirits who believe Paige can find King Solomon’s magical ring for them, because when her father was alive, he was close to finding it. If Paige doesn’t comply with their demands, they will kill her.

Paige is forced to dig deep into her father’s past and unearths shocking secrets about him and his bloodline. With the past and present colliding, Paige is only sure about two things in her life: she needs to outwit the dark spirits to stay alive, and she’s completely and helplessly in love with Nathan.

I loved this 24 chapter book. It had everything: drama, action, mystery, romance, and suspense. The story was told through Paige’s first person point-of-view. I appreciated that Rebekkah Ford made an effort to get readers caring about all the characters.

  • She had an amazing talent with characterization and plot. All the people in the story–heroes, villains, main, supporting–were three-dimensional. Even though Paige was the main one, it didn’t feel like just her story. Everyone got a chance to show their personalities–like an ensemble cast. Jack (a.k.a. Tree) was my favorite. The entire novel was interesting–no boring parts at all. The action flowed well, and the mystery, suspense had me sitting on the edge of my seat. It kept me motivated to continue reading to the end.
  • The author was also brilliant with the emotional aspect of the story. I fell in love with all the drama. In fact, towards the ending, every time Paige’s mother was mentioned, I shed a tear. This story really tugged at my heartstrings. I thought it was cute how Carrie had a crush on Matt, then just like that, I felt bad for Tree because he had feelings for her. It broke my heart that Paige’s mother avoided her company (said it hurt too much). The way Rebekkah Ford described things had me lost in the story. I felt what they felt. I understood their struggles, heartache, butterflies of falling in love, and living life the best they could.

The characters were definitely relatable, and that’s why it was easy for me to root for them to have a happy ending.

I can’t discuss Beyond the Eyes without talking about the sweet romance. I loved the beautiful imagery. If you’re a hopeless romantic, then you’ll fall in love with most of the scenes in the book. There was a love triangle between Carrie, Tree, and Matt (all best friends with Paige). Nathan and Paige fell in love at first sight. So cute! Then later, Brayden (love the name) came in the picture to form another love triangle. Nathan and Brayden were both intense with their feelings for Paige, so you can imagine all the conflict and tension involved. The saddest of all, Paige’s parents love for one another. Her mom had been heartbroken since her dad passed away.

I also enjoyed the friendship relationships. Even though they were only teens, they had been through so much pain that they bonded as a family. I respected their group and appreciated how they had each other’s back no matter what. Being a loner, I don’t know what that feels like, so it felt good to get a glimpse of it.

My favorite scenes were: the funeral/wake scene, Nathan and Paige’s first date, when Paige plays Celtic music for her mom and Nathan, and the classroom scene where her teacher finally shows a softer side.

The story was great with providing subtle clues about something that just wasn’t ordinary. For example, I knew right away that something was up with Mr. Kitty. If Paige’s ears rang, watch out! The cliffhanger ended perfectly, and I can’t wait to read the next set of books. Paige summed it up perfectly: “Bring it on!”

I just wanted to add that the author’s family grew up believing in the supernatural world, which I think is awesome. That’s a cool thing to find inspiration from.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author, please visit:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Beyond The Eyes By Rebekkah Ford

Leave a Reply

