An Interview With Rebekkah Ford, Author Of Beyond The Eyes

Please welcome Rebekkah Ford, author of Beyond the Eyes as a special guest.

Beyond the Eyes

1.  Do you have any advice for other writers trying to get published?

Yes, I do. After you have finished writing your story, I recommend getting one or two critique partners to go over it because I assure you, he or she will catch things that you totally missed. After your story has been critiqued, go over it again. If you’re comfortable and happy with the results, you’re good to go. Also, there are three words I’d like to say to other writers. Above everything else, this is the most important thing you need to do: BELIEVE IN YOURSELF!

2.  Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Well, readers who want to be writers keep reading and try to write every day. The more you read and write, the better you will become. To my readers, I hope you enjoyed my book, and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to read it. I hope you fell in love with the story and characters like I have, and the awesome thing is, there’s more to come. The next two books are a lot darker than the first one. I can’t wait until I unleash them upon the world.

3.  What are your thoughts on the fact that both traditional and self-published authors have to promote their own work?

I think it’s a good thing because it gets the writer out there and teaches them endurance. It helps them grow, not only personally but professionally as well. I never thought I could do the things that I have done and continue to do until I decided to go balls out on this writing journey I’m on.

4.  What genre do you write for? Your favorite aspect? Your least favorite aspect?

My Beyond the Eyes series is in the young adult genre, however, it has crossover potential. My favorite aspect is writing in the POV of a seventeen-year-old because I still feel like I’m that age and it’s so much fun writing in that genre. My least favorite aspect is when I’m writing a scene that is begging to be extremely R-rated, and I have to pull back because the characters are teenagers and it might raise eyebrows. I mean, there are some R-rated scenes, but they’re tastefully done and fit the age group.

5.  What are your current/next projects?

The second book (Dark Spirits) to the series needs to be revised and edited, so I’ll be working on that soon. I’m also more than halfway done with the rough draft to the third book (The Devil’s Third) in this series. In fact, my wonderful critique partner is anxiously waiting for my next chapter in that book. 🙂

6.  Do you prefer to work alone or with critique partners/beta-readers?

I prefer working with critique partners.

7.  How do you find time to write?

I make time. I write in the morning before I go to my full-time day job, and then I write at night. I also write during the weekend.

8.  Did you always want to become an author?

Yes, I did. There was a time though, when I thought I wanted to be a journalist, but then quickly realized I loved writing stories way more than writing articles.

9.  Is there any writing ritual you complete before creating your manuscripts/drafts?

You know, I wish I can be like those writers who write an outline of their entire book before hand, but it doesn’t work for me. My ritual is basically this: I have an idea, and I write it down, along with the characters I have in mind. It’s sort of an outline, but it’s very loose because things generally come to me as I’m writing the story. I do take some notes as the ideas come to me, to keep track of everything.

10.  Do you write the beginning/opening first or do you tend to write in order (with whatever scenes interest you most)?

I always start from the beginning–start to finish.

11.  Have you ever hated something you wrote?

No, not really. I’ve hated the mistakes I’ve made, but that’s how you learn, right?

12.  Which is the easiest for you–novel, novella, or short story? Why?

I think writing a novel is the easiest because I don’t feel too constricted. I’ve never written a novella before, but I’m seriously considering writing one on Paige (the main character in the Beyond the Eyes series) after the third book is written. I already have the story in my head for it.

13.  While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of your characters?

There were times when I felt like Paige. Every time I read chapter eighteen, I get choked up.

14.  How did you come up with the title?

I came up with Beyond the Eyes because the eyes are supposed to be the windows to your soul. It’s also a huge clue to this story.

15.  What inspired you to write your latest book? What is the book about?

One day I was trying to think of a story to write, and my husband told me to write something that would scare or freak me out. That’s how I came up with this story.

Here’s the blurb to my story. I’m including the testimonials I received from the two people who have already read it:

“A thrilling, wholly satisfying first book to a new young adult series. It will keep you wanting more.” – Valentina Cano, Carabosse’s Library

“Beyond the Eyes is haunting yet passionate. This breakout novel is quick and hip, a saucy must-read.” – Charles Land, Judas Pistol

Paige knows evil exists in this world, but she never imagined it would want something from her.

After a ghostly voice whispers a haunting message to seventeen-year-old Paige Reed, Paige’s life takes a nightmarish turn. Unwilling to tell her friends about the supernatural occurrences happening in her life, Paige feels more alone than ever–until she meets Nathan Caswell.

Nathan is not only hot, but seems to peer into Paige’s soul, evoking a magnetic energy between them that cannot be denied. But he’s no ordinary guy. He tracks dark spirits, and becomes alarmed when they set their sights on Paige.

And then there are the two power-hungry dark spirits who believe Paige can find King Solomon’s magical ring for them, because when her father was alive, he was close to finding it. If Paige doesn’t comply with their demands, they’ll kill her.

Paige is forced to dig deep into her father’s past and unearths shocking secrets about him and his bloodline. With the past and present colliding, Paige is only sure about two things in her life: she needs to outwit the dark spirits to stay alive, and she’s completely and helplessly in love with Nathan.

16.  Any blogs, websites, social media you’d like to share?

Yes. You can find me on Blog, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Pinterest, Book Trailer.

** You can purchase Rebekkah Ford’s books at Smashwords, Amazon, Barnes & Noble **

Thanks again for joining us Rebekkah Ford.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

