“One By One” Thriller First Draft Completed!!!

I’m proud to say that I completed my first draft of One By One in 43 days! For everyone who’s been following my blog, you know that I documented my NaNoWriMo Experience with a day by day account. For those 30 days, I mostly discussed the writing process itself instead of my story. Can’t give too much away. I love spoilers; doesn’t mean everyone else does hee hee.

On May 24,2012, One By One finished with a 67,331 word count (which is pretty good, considering I only had to write 50,000), Calibri 12 font, single space at 128 pages.

I used to be surprised when authors could bang out novel after novel like it was nothing. I often thought there’s no way I could do that. However, after NaNo, I’ve realized if I discipline myself to write every day instead of when the mood strikes me, then I certainly can write novel after novel, short story after short story. No more writing as a hobby–have to focus as a business.

I celebrated and put my novel away for about 3 days. With an objective eye, I read word for word all the awkward phrases, passive wording, lengthy info dumps. All writers know first drafts are complete cramp. If not, then please tell me your secret. Overall, the story held my interest. I fleshed out my characters’ personalities, and fell in love with them (so much I was bummed that I had to kill them hee hee). The suspense was there. I bit my nails in some scenes, and I believe that I successfully managed to put subtle clues of who the killer(s) may be since the beginning.

Now, of course, I’ll enjoy my story. I wrote it 🙂 The word count let me know that I really liked this one. Usually I struggle to make it in the late 48,000 range, so this was a huge accomplishment for me. In reality, I could’ve kept going, but I needed to wrap it up. Robin, Melissa, and I are doing the NaNoEdMo challenge next, so our second draft is due June 26th. If I was still creating the story, then that would’ve given me less time for editing and revisions.

I can’t wait to make this story more reader-friendly. Good-bye to 67,331. I’ve already begun revisions and a lot–especially in the beginning chapters–were cut. I can’t wait for critiquing to start to see if Robin and Melissa get creeped out or if it’s too obvious who the killer(s) is. I can’t wait to get suggestions for improvements and to see what they enjoyed the most. To say I’m excited would be an understatement. I’ve even asked a horror author to beta-read for me later on, and he agreed!

  • I must admit that I went into self-doubt, self-sabotage mode for Something’s Amiss (my romance drama), but this mystery thriller has brought my passion out again for the other novel.  To think that a fun challenge put things in perspective for me is pretty cool beans.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

P.S. And I’m happy to announce that I stuck to my word of no one tripping and falling while being chased 🙂

8 thoughts on ““One By One” Thriller First Draft Completed!!!

  1. It was the same thought I had after finishing the NaNo challenge: With the right discipline, you can write 50k words in a month. It’s great to have all that material to twist and cut and turn into a novel that people want to read. Congratulations on exceeding your word-count goal!

    • Thanks Darla,
      Surprisingly I’ve kept up with the discipline of writing every day–even if only a paragraph or two. Now, I have to try and get back in the habit of editing.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. Woo hoo! Congratulations – I know for a fact what a wonderful accomplishment that is! Pat yourself on the back for me. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading it when it’s published!! Have fun with the rewrites. 🙂

  3. CONGRATS! What an amazing accomplishment! I am so happy for you and cannot wait for the publication date!! I am currently doing CampNaNo so I hope to be saying these very same words in 25 more days… You have inspired me to win CampNaNo!! Happy editing. Don’t forget to let us know when it’s released!!

    • Thank you Kymberleigh,
      I hope you win Camp NaNo. Good luck!!! If you get the 2 week blues, you can vent to me. I’m a good listener LOL. It’s so surreal to think my stories will be published in the near future. I can’t wait. Can’t wait to read one of your books too. We’re on the same level and path it seems like.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

