Book Review: Dark Passage: A Paranormal Thriller By Griffin Hayes

Tyson Barrett has carried a terrible secret his entire life. A secret that haunts his dreams and threatens to destroy the happiness he’s worked so hard to build. But those nightmares don’t just want to torture him. Somehow they’ve found a way out…and now they want him dead.

This 46 chapter novel exceeded my expectations. Already a fan of the author’s writing style, I knew the story would be spooky, entertaining, and action-packed. But it went well beyond that. I’ll never smell a pine tree scent or see a fly the same way ever again.

  • Griffin Hayes has an amazing talent with characterization, voice, and description. His creative, original metaphors helped enhance the narration. Each character sounded different. I got lost in the story, feeling what the characters felt. Experiencing what they went through because of the great use of showing rather than telling.

For the majority of the novel, Tyson and Hunter switched point-of-views, each having their own chapters. At first, its set-up where I had no idea how they could know each other or meet later in the story. Then, it’s finally revealed that Hunter’s patient Brenda (in a coma) is actually Tyson’s mother. Let me tell ya, the plot thickened! The premise was Hunter just got hired to join Sunnybrook Asylum as a doctor, and for awhile Tyson has had insomnia because of nightmares. He found Dr. Stevens to help him sleep by taking a dosage of medicine after every meal.

  • There were some chapters that showed the supporting characters’ perspectives as well. Pay close attention because these sections are very important in developing the plot and revealing some of the mystery.

My favorite line was: “Funny, he thought how so many of the fears that we carry with us aren’t much more than a product of an overactive imagination.” Boy was Tyson wrong LOL! Bad for him–good for the readers. This thriller was very entertaining.

Besides the suspense and action, I loved the drama elements as well. It helped me, as a reader, really care about the characters. Poor Tyson. Due to his long periods of insomnia, he pushed his family away, so eventually Ruma left him taking their son Kavi with her. Their conversations broke my heart, and I wished she would have gave him a second chance. I’m a sucker for happy endings. He met Judy, so I enjoyed their friendship blossoming. She was the only one who believed him about all the craziness going on. Tyson had a crappy childhood. His brother Alexander had died, his mom had attempted to kill Tyson. That’s why Brenda was locked up in the insane asylum. She was in a coma but had high brain activity levels (like she was dreaming). No. She was stalking Tyson and Kavi, plus turning Hunter into a madman.

Chills went down my spine whenever the characters died. The scenes were so disgusting–in a good way–and I kept looking down under the table to make sure nothing wasn’t crawling towards me. Also when Hunter went cray-cray, the other characters weren’t aware. So, I kept screaming “Watch your back”, especially that cafe scene with Ruma. When Ruma and Kavi visited Sunnybrook to get answers, I knew her telling him “When adults ask you a question, you better answer” would blow up in her face. Brenda was able to communicate with Kavi, getting his home address out of him. Dun, dun, dun…

I have to admit that I was scared when I saw it was 46 chapters, wondering when I’d have time to finish reading it. However, it was a very fast read. And, all the sections were important to enhance the story along further. The action and emotion weren’t lost. There wasn’t any boring setups or unnecessary backstory. All the twists and reveals kept me on my toes; the ending tied together nicely.

  • I could picture this as a movie. I could envision Logan Marshall Green as Tyson and Ryan Phillippe as Hunter.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

