Book Review: Brush Strokes By Anais Morgan

I followed a forum conversation on Absolute Write (I want to say it was in the blogging, networking section). I liked a comment Anais wrote and noticed her sig has a link with her book mentioned.

Of course, I had to check it out because I found the title interesting. I liked the book description. Plus, the guy on the cover totally looked like Robert Pattison a little bit. I’m not a Twilight fan BY ANY MEANS, but he’s eye candy. And, I’ll always adore his performance on Remember Me.

There was confusion on my part because I thought I read that it was erotica. I expected another steamy treasure like Rea Thomas’ s Stolen Nights. Even with my brain fart, I don’t regret buying the short story.

Brush Strokes is the fifteenth book of my reading challenge. Here’s my thoughts:

Rose has been all but drug to a speed dating service with her best friend, secret crush and artist Sebastian. The night yields no luck so the pair takes the night to his place. Rose is given the chance to be the subject of Sebastian’s art. Something she has always dreamt about but has been too afraid to say anything.

What Rose doesn’t know is Sebastian has been harboring the same feelings for her. And he has more plans than just painting.

This 4 chapter book had interesting characters. Sebastian and Rose were pretty cool. I enjoyed their sarcastic sense of humor. And, I appreciated that Rose wasn’t one of those girlie-girl types. It made her first person point-of-view account fun to read.

I liked the opening. I’ve never been to a Speed Dating event, and hopefully, I never have to LOL. I personally thought that Sebastian (on the book cover) sort of resembled Robert Pattison, so the fact that Sebastian asked Rose to leave the event to watch Twilight seemed like an inside joke.

It was sweet that both friends had developed feelings for each other since the moment they met but was too shy to say anything. To act on their feelings. I know what that feels like, so I can relate.

The story ended with Rose’s portrait going on display at Sebastian’s art exhibit. His gesture for her was the cutest thing ever.

I wished the pacing could’ve slowed down some. It felt like I was reading a sports event because the action was shown with short sentences lacking any mention of emotions involved–this was why I figured Rose wasn’t a sensitive or romantic type. It felt like I was reading about Rose and Sebastian’s journey on finding love instead of getting lost in the story and feeling what Rose felt.

Anais Morgan has a great talent with plot. I really loved the chain of events that transpired in her characters’ lives–Speed Dating, asking her to pose for him, the painting, Art Exhibit. I’d be interested in reading a longer piece of fiction from her because I know there’d be no boring moments.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Brush Strokes By Anais Morgan

  1. Congratulations on succeeding in your 30 day challenge! I’ve gotta say I’m a bit in awe (and jealous!) that you get so much writing done and still manage to read other books and write detailed reviews! When I’m writing I find it really hard to concentrate on reading which is annoying because I love reading so much. I’m looking forward to the day you are published (which should be soon) and I can read your books! BTW I can’t work out why you’re unable to leave comments on my blog. It’s a bit of a mystery, but thanks for following me, I do appreciate it.

    • Hey Francene,
      Thank you! NaNo was hard but now I know what to look forward to if I try it again. I only have time to read if I write in the morning and read in the evenings. Otherwise, I’d fail miserably in producing any words.

      It’s funny that I researched online how to write a book review because I knew I wanted to do them for my blog. So I take it very seriously–I guess I don’t want to disappoint anyone, you know? It’d be even better if the authors were on GoodReads, so I could be at the mandatory 20 reviewed books. I can’t wait to see what that site recommends for me!

      Ah, there’s nothing to be jealous of. I’m behind on posting. I’ll get to it sometime LOL. Thanks for the kind words about can’t wait to read my books. It means a lot.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Hey Kymberleigh,
      What list do you have? I love finding new books to read. Are you on GoodReads? That’s another site to find awesome novels/short stories too.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • Oh, I have an extremely long list, and my Kindle is getting cluttered LOL! Yes, I am on GoodReads and Book Country. Today I just signed up for Shelfari. Love reading reviews, giving reviews, and finding new authors and reading material.

Leave a Reply

