Day 28 (Embracing My Writer Identity)

MAY 7TH – 1, 630 WORDS

I had fun at Jumpin’ Java today even if I was alone most of the time. You know a certain vibe you get when you assume someone wants to speak to you, but they never do. Well, Nicholas introduced himself (I guess he wanted to wait until I was alone). He thought I was a teacher because he always noticed I “correct something.” Taking everyone’s advice, I’ve decided to embrace my writer identity. So I told him I’m a writer; now he calls me “novelist.”

I’ve been dining in Jumpin’ Java for about a month now–officially 30 days on May 9th. I’m not talking just eating then leaving right away. I’ve been spending a good 2 hours each morning–minus weekends–in there, so it was about time I talked to the lady behind the counter. Somehow we got on the subject of WVU (we both attended). She asked me when I graduated, and Haylie couldn’t believe my age. She said I definitely don’t look like it. If that’s not a compliment, then I don’t know what is hee hee. Let’s just say, my day went swell.

  • Since I’ll be a regular customer even after NaNo is over, I might as well mingle with the staff and other regular customers. I can’t stay a quiet wallflower forever.

I wrote at Jumpin’ Java (a little over 1,000 words) as well as during my lunch. I’ve reached the part where the second victim is dead upstairs. Dun, dun, dun…The other characters don’t know it yet. Since I only have 2 days to complete NaNo, I know I won’t finish. I’ll get passed my word count of 50,000 but I still have 7 more victims to go. Excited that this will be my first story that passes the novella stage.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

