You Ain’t Haagen-Dazs

Have you ever been at the counter and regretted your decision to buy something? That’s exactly what happened to me last night. I attended my writer’s group meeting, and someone had mentioned that we should order since we’re using the cafe. Okay, that’s fine. However, out of six only three stood up. This was even after we announced we just came from Beasley’s Bookstore for dinner. That’s why I like to call us The Charles Town Chumps hee hee.

Skippers is popular for its ice cream–think the hard kind like Baskins Robbins. Very delicious. However, $6.10 is way too much for three measly scoops of ice cream. Even Dairy Queen isn’t outrageous like that.

When he told me the price, I almost fainted. I did a double-take, wide-eyed. That’s probably why he smiled so hard. He swiped my card, and all I could think was I’m a huge sucker. Twice in one day. I would have canceled my order, but there was a long line behind me, and I don’t want to be that girl. I’m cheap, but the world doesn’t need to know that. I kept thinking how all the different brands of ice cream in the frozen section of the grocery store aren’t priced too high–and they are big cartons. Skippers is not Ben & Jerry or Haagen-Dazs.

For next time, I know to stay away from the ice cream. It’s very delicious but NOT worth the price. For a struggling artist like me, $6.10 empties my bank account hee hee. Can you imagine if I said, “Hey mom, sorry you didn’t get a Mother’s Day present from me. I brought ice cream. I guess that’s just how the cookie crumbles.”

Would you have canceled your order or sucked it up and kept your mouth shut?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

7 thoughts on “You Ain’t Haagen-Dazs

  1. A Leo like me doesn’t quite know how to suck it up LOL! Naw, they would have lost that sale, long line or not. I don’t think you’re being cheap! $6 for scoops of ice cream is a bit outrageous. I think Haagen-Dazs prices are outrageous, but at least their quality is way up there…

  2. Lol! Cute post. I can think of a few instances like this…where I got caught off guard like you. Now I’m a little bolder (most of the time), where I can say – uh, never mind, I think I’ll order something else. 🙂

    • I wish I was brave like that. I’m always afraid they’ll mess with my food either now or next time–like I’m blacklisted LOL. Thanks for nominating me for another blogger award!

      Oh and I finished “Something New” yesterday, so I’ll have my book review posted in a little while.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  3. I wouldn’t have cancelled my order, but I would have commented that I thought the price was a little much. I guess you have to think about it this way too…those little shops downtown obviously are not big franchises so they have to be a little costly in order to make any money. The down side is that the average person (or should I say the struggling people, such as myself), can’t really afford to pay those kind of prices.

    • Hey Kim,
      You’re more brave than me because I couldn’t even say anything. Maybe if I didn’t go in there all the time for their peanut butter and jelly sandwiches during my lunch hour. You’re right about most things being costly at downtown Charles Town–it’s getting worse than Shepherdstown.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

