Day 3 (Relaxed)

APR. 12TH – 855 WORDS

I was right in the fact that I would be motivated to start where I had left off. Having how I wanted to finish the scene in my head, I needed to get it down on paper.

One problem–the pen wouldn’t stay in my hand. In the morning, I sat down at the usual table in my spot (I have obsessive compulsive behavior) in Jumpin’ Java. I took my notebook out of my bag but looked at the lady’s nice laptop. Which got me questioning why I haven’t brought one yet.

Then it dawned on me that it’s rude to sit in a restaurant and not order something, so I brought a hot chocolate and peanut butter/jelly sandwich. Let me tell ya, that food was delicious! Basically, I wasted the first 30 minutes. Then I steadily began to write. It was fun writing the guy’s part. He’s got it bad for his friend. Now, I’m on a different scene that’s interesting to me as well. Another female friend is jealous because she secretly likes the guy. I promise this won’t be a Midsummer’s Night Dream scenario.

  • After awhile, I’ll probably reveal the characters’ names. For some reason, I honestly think I’ll stick with them and won’t change anything during revisions. Hopefully, I haven’t jinxed myself.

I got lost in my story, but then people kept coming and going. I’m an observer; naturally my head kept turning to the door every single time. Then a kid sat at another table with a laptop, which got me wondering about the writing conference. We get to spend some time with editors. Will they want a hard copy of my manuscript? Or want it on a flash drive?

My mind wandered, making me waste another 30 minutes. I wasn’t worried because if I slacked off today, I could make it up tomorrow or the weekend. I purposely left off at a spot where I’m motivated to continue tomorrow.

I had fun writing today. My characters are from my hometown, so I’m including places that are real. I may have to change that in the editing phase–I’m not trying to get sued.

  • I’ve introduced 5 characters out of 9. Usually I don’t have that many, but I needed enough people to kill off. That sounds disturbing on so many levels hee hee.

The morning was the only time I wrote; when I got home, I was hooked in a very entertaining book that I’m reviewing for my reading challenge. I couldn’t put the book down. I hope that’s how readers will feel when they get a glimpse of my stories. One day…

No worries. I’ll see Robin tomorrow, and I’ll be back on track. Today, I communicated with Melissa and Robin through email. We can do it ladies! Only 27 more days left!

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Day 3 (Relaxed)

  1. I’ve been wanting to do some “observing” in public myself. Sounds like a good way to build up your character database. What is the writing conference you’ll be attending? There’s a conference coming up here in my town and I’m hoping to attend one of the affordable evening lectures. Have a great weekend!

    • Hey Darla,
      It’s definitely helpful if you carry a notebook with you, so you jot down your descriptions when it’s fresh in your mind. This Saturday, I’m attending a conference in Washington D.C. from 9am to 5pm called Conversations and Connections at the John Hopkins Program in Creative Writing. Should be exciting.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

