Day 2 (Determined)

APR. 11TH – 2,221 WORDS

Today I knew that I had to push myself to pass the 1,666 goal to make up for yesterday. This morning at the library, I didn’t waste any time. I wrote the entire 1 hour and 20 minutes non-stop. I wasn’t playing around this morning hee hee.

It helped that only a few–literally only three people besides the librarians–were in the building. Usually it’s crowded, and there’s a tutor with a young boy who’s always loud. Luckily, they weren’t there. Thank goodness for spring break! If you talk louder than my IPOD, then there’s a problem.

  • Okay I can’t lie. I did pause for a couple of minutes to eavesdrop on a conversation one of the librarians had with a guy. He was a year younger than me. I’m not a stalker. The only reason I knew his age was because he stated it. Anyway, she was gossiping about another librarian. My ears perked up since he’s the only young one who works there–plus he’s cute. I like having eye candy. From the conversation, I gathered he’s too young for me; he’s a senior in college. Good thing I never flirted or anything. How embarrassing if I had. I’m old, but that’s a rant for another post.

You’re probably wondering what my crush on the librarian has to do with a post about NaNo. But, it is significant since I reached Chapter 2 tonight, and in one of the scenes, the guy has a crush on the main female, but they’re only friends. Right now, the scene is in her point-of-view, so later I’ll use a scene break to get his feelings out too.

The story also opened up some skeletons in the main female’s closet. Right now, she’s mad at the people who brought it up. Will she go on a murder spree? Or will she forgive? I’ll never tell….

I’m so used to staying in the character planning stage for a while before attempting to write a rough draft; therefore, it’s kinda throwing me for a loop with my characterization. I’m used to getting intimate and personal with my characters so that I’m confident I care enough about them to share their story. So rushing to write will have to take some time getting used to.

I like where I am so far. I’m pretty good with drama and conflict, and I’m still in my comfort zone with some of the romance explored. I worked a little bit once I got home; I was motivated to continue but decided to put my pen down. There’s other projects I have to work on–besides all my focus had to be on Law and Order: SVU and Psych. Plus, tomorrow I should be motivated to continue where I left off. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

