What the Bleep Have I Gotten Myself Into?!?!

Because I can’t help but punish myself, I’ve decided to join the NaNoWriMo challenge, which consists of writing a 50,000 word count novel in 30 days. I’m a commitment phobe, so this shall be very interesting to see if I’ll be successful in completing this writing challenge.

Who am I kidding? I won’t allow myself to fail (blame it on my inner nerd hee hee). Sure, it’ll be stressful some days, but ultimately it’s all about having fun. I’m doing NaNoWriMo with Robin and Melissa–this is our first time doing it, so we’ll keep each other on track. We’ll meet at least twice a week and keep communications going through email.

My schedule will be writing in the mornings before work at the library, cafe, and/or train station (good luck with that because I’m not a morning person). I got this! If I say it enough times, then eventually I’ll believe it. I like to do research before I attempt anything new, so I also know that:

  • 1st week–fun and motivated to write
  • 2nd week–very stressful, will want to pull my hair out, will want to quit
  • 3rd week–will probably slack off (a procrastinator’s dream) if haven’t quit yet
  • 4th week–back on track rushing to get word count high enough

For me, NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow, so I’m enjoying my last day of freedom. This weekend I already drew my character sketches and made a plot outline.

I figure it’d be a great opportunity to try a genre I’ve never written in before (to keep in the fun spirit). I loved Harper’s Island and all the Scream movies, therefore, I’m trying my hand in mystery/suspense. It’ll also have my family drama elements I like to focus on–a family tragic event in the past leads up to a group of friends being stalked in a cabin at the woods. Dun, dun, dun…. To show my commitment, I’ve already come up with a potential title: One By One.

Yes, this storyline has been done before, but I want to see what I can come up with. I already know the killers, the order in which the victims die. Now, I just gotta see if I can stick to my plot outline; rough drafts are meant for experimentation. I’m still debating if I want it to be a mystery where climax isn’t until readers and characters find out at same time who’s been terrorizing them. Or a suspense where readers know, but the characters are left in the dark. I think suspense would cause readers to have a sit-on-edge-of-their-seat reaction, worrying about the characters’ safety.

Wish me luck! I have a feeling that I’ll need it!

For any writers who’s ever participated in NaNoWriMo, do you have any tips for me and my writing buddies? Or would you like to share your 30 day writing challenge experience?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

12 thoughts on “What the Bleep Have I Gotten Myself Into?!?!

  1. WOW Good luck! I can’t even come close to write everyday, I can barely do it once a week. :S

    One month? I started work on my book and I set my “finished un-edited text” deadline by September! Good for you I’m looking forward to following your adventures here 🙂

    Lots of Luck, once again!
    Alex

    • Thanks Alex!
      I came up with the idea to do this because I wanted to have fun after this LLOONNGGG process of editing before getting published. For the next 30 days all I have to do is create my story and leave my inner-editor out the door. Yippie LOL.

      Good luck to getting your book finished by September! Is it the fantasy genre?

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Thanks Anita!

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. If you happen to see me around town walking like a zombie, twitching, or pulling my hair out, just calmly approach me and let me know everything will be alright LOL.

  2. I found writing with friends is a great way to get your word count up. If you are all alone it’s easy to goof off and procrastinate but if your typing with friends and making small contests of it it’s much easier to be focused on keeping the fingers on the keyboard

  3. I found NaNoWriMo so very helpful as a writer. It was November 2010 when I attempted it. Yes, I didn’t even get close to writing a novel in a month, but, by February ’11 I had over 60K words, all because I had chosen to start the challenge.
    I believe it’s less about the discipline, more about the sustaining a singular story until it is complete.
    As of writing, that novel from 2010 still remains my longest, most polished and favourite of my own stories…even through rewrites and panicking.
    I hope you enjoy your challenge,
    Alexandrina
    PS. You are blogging at the same time, are you not? Surely that make more of a challenge?

    • Hey Alexandrina,
      I like your take that NaNo is less about discipline and more about completing a story eventually. That’s exactly what me and my writing buddies said this morning. That it’s easy to start something, but harder to see it through and finish it. Yeah, I’m blogging at the same time. I figured I’d write it sort of as a journal type thing so if anyone else participates in NaNo, they can have an idea how they’ll go through a rollercoaster of emotions day by day LOL.

      I was so busy yesterday that I’m behind on two of my Day posts, so hopefully, I’ll publish those today. Right now I’m going through the week 2 blues, but it’ll end soon.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

