Book Review: Grace-An Eternal Beloved Novel By R. Rodriguez

Grace Elizabeth Coventry has wanted to die since puberty. Since then, she carries out elaborate plans to end her life. She almost succeeds on her eighteenth birthday, but when an outside force emerges to carry out the deed, an inexplicable survival instinct awakens in her. It’s too late, though. Death has already noticed her. As she hangs on for dear life from the ledge of the Skyway Bridge in Chicago, about to give up to her fate, an unexpected stranger appears to save her, only to be challenged by the ultimate threat. In the end, only she has the power to save herself.

I loved this 20 chapter book. The beginning grabbed my attention and never let go. Lucian Lake (cute name) oversees construction of the Skyway bridge while Grace attempts to jump off it. An image startles her, causing her to fall and dangle on the edge. It was an intense moment because I was very worried about her safety.

Poor Grace. She was forced into therapy multiple times by her mother because she didn’t approve of her daughter. Instead of accepting Grace for who she was, her mom wanted to control her life. Grace hates her birthday–Halloween, and she has wanted to die since 15 years old.

  • Even though this was a drama, I laughed at some parts. Not laughing at the author or her writing style. No. I laughed because some parts were funny. Like, Grace was a struggling model trying to make it in Chicago. Her manager had told her to consider stripping because she was too voluptuous to model. I don’t know why that tickled my fancy, but it did. Probably since I’ve never missed a season of America’s Next Top Model.

It was the sweetest gesture when Lucian buys Grace a black, leather journal (I was jealous–I’m a notebook snob LOL) to use as a diary. My favorite quote was “Maybe you’ve been talking to the wrong people,” Lucian said. “It’s more productive to talk to yourself. After all, you are who you’ll have to live with for the rest of your life.” I like that a character got me thinking emotionally like that. I appreciated the advice.

  • And the beginning of Chapter 5 reminded me of the “Reason, Season, Lifetime” poem, which is one of my favorites. I enjoyed that the story brought out emotions in me and also had me become philosophical.

My favorite scenes were 1) the sexual tension between Grace and Lucian at his party 2) Grace’s therapy session (the ending is when the questions start arising to get readers prepared for the twists). And let me tell you, the twists were great. Throughout the novel, I kept trying to figure out the mystery of who Lucian was–does he truly love Grace? Is he obsessive? A pushover? A ghost? I was very satisfied with the reveals and questions answered.

The story was written in 1st person point-of-view through Grace’s perspective, so I enjoyed constantly seeing the things she saw, feeling the emotions she felt. R. Rodriguez was brilliant with characterization and being descriptive enough to get readers lost in the story. I absolutely hated the way Grace’s family (mother and sister) treated her so coldly when she came back home to visit from college. It was insane. And don’t even get me started on how awful Dario (her boyfriend) treated Grace. The author did a wonderful job in bringing out everyone’s personalities through dialogue and their actions. It takes talent to have your readers care about your characters–whether to want them to succeed or love to hate them. Anything is better than not caring. I also loved that all the characters were three-dimensional. They had strengths and weaknesses.

I honestly started thinking there could be more to Lucian than meets the eye once Grace has that vivid dream about him while she stays in her parent’s house. You’ll have to read the book for yourself to see what’s his deal. I would love to tell but can’t ruin the story LOL. Let’s just say, Grace is the underdog, and I was proud that eventually she becomes strong to face her situation head-on.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book, please visit:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

