Book Review: Prayer For All Seasons By Kathleen Cormack

You have no idea how wonderful it was to meet Kathleen Cormack in person. My bi-weekly routine of getting my hair done at Sabrina’s ended in a bright, hopeful future of getting published. I was on my way to leave the salon when Sabrina told me I should stay and talk to a local author, whose appointment was right after mine.

It was cool the way we shared our passion of writing; we both had been creating stories since childhood. She spoke of her publishing journey–getting tired of the rejection letters (that everyone faces. You need a thick skin to make it in this industry), so she hired an editor and proceeded with the indie route.

I really admire that. It takes a lot of guts to put your work out there for the world to see. Since I like being a rebel, I might just end up indie publishing as well. Meeting someone who followed their dream has motivated me to not give up.

I’ve NEVER tried to read inspirational fiction in my life, so I was iffy about buying the book. She had given me her bookmark–a very creative promotional tool, I may have to borrow the idea when my book comes out hee hee). But, I’m happy I gave the book a chance.

Here’s my thoughts on Prayer For All Seasons, which is the eighth book for my reading challenge. I broke my own rules of only sharing authors I found on Absolute Write or other blogs. I couldn’t pass over this opportunity to help a local author out.

Whoever said God has a sense of humor must have been on the sidelines enjoying the last laugh.

The protagonist and her three friends will learn some valuable lessons about relationships and forgiveness, as they help Tricee, the main character, to deal with the hurt inflicted upon her by her mother. Just when she thought God had heard all of her prayers, Tricee learns a secret that will change her life! She cannot believe that her mother has held onto this secret for close to thirty years.

This story was created and written to inspire women, as well as men, to “hang onto their faith” and to forgive others because God does hear us when we pray.

The characters are realistic; you will feel as if you are right there with them! The story deals with serious human issues. It is touching yet humorous, sure to evoke a variety of emotions within the readers.

I enjoyed this 26 chapter book. Meet Tricee. Even though she and Paul were only friends, I thought their relationship was cute and sweet. It reminded me of a more than friends, less than lovers dynamic. I can’t even lie–I squealed in delight when readers were given a secret that Tricee didn’t know (Paul did, in fact, have a crush on her)!

  • I enjoyed Hunter too. The way he and Tricee met in the cafe made me smile. I love honest, straightforward flirting instead of all the B.S. flattery just trying to get into someone’s pants.
  • I really did feel for her when she found out that her best friend from childhood was really her half-sister. I couldn’t even imagine not knowing I had any siblings out in the world. Or realizing I could have had an even tighter bond with someone if I knew they were family.

Meet Pam. She was my second favorite character–probably helped that I could relate to her pessimistic attitude LOL. During the “is the glass half-empty or half-full” scene, I was totally on Pam’s side. I like to think of people like us as realists. I wished she would’ve wised up about her boyfriend Jeff sooner. When all the evidence is right in front of your face, take a step back and stop being in denial.

Meet Jackie. I like that she kept her boyfriend Lem a secret until the end of the story. I began to think ‘well, maybe he’s made up’, so I was laughing when the character finally appeared in person. Meet Val. She was married to Cory. Normally, I’m not so optimistic, but I really feel that they had the perfect marriage–respect, love, understanding. And, Val was the glue, who kept the group together.

The headhopping, and all of the flashbacks written in italics are worth getting past to read this novel about positive, black women who are career-driven and role models. I was happy to see minorities in a positive light instead of fitting into an angry black woman/angry black man stereotype. All the characters were polite, open-minded, and not overly pushy. At the bar, if the ladies told the guys “no thanks”, they didn’t get cussed out or called names. The guys respected their decisions.

I could see this as a Hallmark or Lifetime movie. Every scene made sense and foreshadowed turn of events in later chapters, so I thought the author Kathleen Cormack did an impressive job with plot. All the drama was interesting to read. I love when a story can bring an emotion out of me, and this book certainly did.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Prayer For All Seasons By Kathleen Cormack

  1. Hi there, Yawatta!

    I was so excited to receive your comment on my very first blog entry this afternoon! It sounds as though we have a lot in common! I enjoyed this post. I, too, will most likely go the Indie publishing route. As far as how I obtained editing clients, it was sort of a God-send, really. A friend of mine from college started up a small business right after graduation and it really started with her blog. I would read her blog and notice mistakes here and there. I would ask my husband (her husband’s best friend) to mention that she needed to fix certain things. I knew she was trying to present herself in as professional a manner as possible. She emailed us a while later and asked me if I wanted to be her editor! I was so excited that I jumped at the chance. I have been editing her blog and her business partner’s blog since September. I also edit their website, important emails that they must send out, and any pdf’s that they keep for their clients. It is a lot of fun and part of my mission is going to be securing some other bloggers as clients, since there does not seem to be many people out there doing that.

    I would, eventually, like to edit manuscripts for books and such, but I’m using this to get my foot in the door. I don’t have an English degree, either. I was an Early Childhood Education Major, but I spend a ton of time editing my fourth graders’ papers and really enjoy that, too! I’ve been doing some research and most editors don’t even put their college degrees on their sites. Perhaps there is hope for gals like us that don’t have English degrees!

    Good luck to you! I know we will both make it if we keep up all our hard work! It was a pleasure “meeting” you. Would you mind if I linked to your blog?

    Blessings,

    Sammybunny

  2. Hey Sammybunny,
    Cool beans that you started out that way. When I researched, the sites kept saying “If you call yourself an editor, then you’re an editor.” Maybe I should try your approach of convincing a friend to let me revise their work. I know what you mean about getting your foot in the door. Congratulations on finding a creative way to make your goal become successful!

    We will definitely both make it! It was nice “meeting” you too; of course, you can link to me. And, thank you for answering my question–it gives me motivation to keep trying.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

