Book Review: The Banishing By Fiona Dodwell

One day I browsed through the Announcements section on Absolute Write, Fiona wrote that she had an interview on someone’s blog, so I clicked on the link.  I enjoyed the interview and found her book description interesting.

The only thing–it was horror.  I’m a huge scaredy cat, so when I watch scary movies, I cover my eyes a lot.  The background music warns me; when reading, there’s nothing to warn a reader about a frightening scene coming up, so I was hesitant to try this genre.  Getting over my fear, I’ve decided to try horror stories, and I’m loving it!

The Banishing is the fifth book of my reading challenge.  Here’s my thoughts:

When Melissa first notices the change in her husband–subtle at first–she thinks it may be the stress of moving into their new home.  Or working long hours.  But soon he turns into something far darker, far more sinister.

Who or what is the dark shadow living beneath her husband?  What is haunting him?

Melissa must quickly find the answer to these questions, because Mark is changing, and fast.  Soon her fight will be for her life, as well as for her marriage.

The Banishing is a dark, disturbing novel exploring the world of demonic possession, spiritual oppression, and domestic abuse.

This 34 chapter story reminded me of an Edgar Allan Poe creation.  I loved the creepiness of it all, and the way the author tended to repeat the same phrases in different ways back to back.  It worked because it showed Melissa being frightened, desperate, wondering if she was going insane.  This book is told through her point-of-view (third person narration).

I jumped a lot while reading–that’s how scared I was.  It was spooky the way the dark shadow appeared out of nowhere all the time.  I had two favorite scenes.  First, before Melissa enters her house, she sees the dark shadow standing by the window waiting for her; she was so brave for dealing with that.  Second, Melissa had a patient named Elsie, who died from a stroke.  That hit home for me because that was my grandma’s name and that’s how she died in the hospital in 2008.  I took a moment to recollect my thoughts, then BAM!!!  Elsie comes back from the dead to warn Melissa that she’s next!

I understand love and all that, but I wanted to knock some sense into these characters LOL.  I would have been out of that house so fast.  And, if someone told me disturbing things were happening at their place, I would listen, investigate, etc.  I wouldn’t let them keep suffering because they said they’ll take care of it.  If my husband beat me, I would say adios and keep it moving.  Forget love conquers all LOL.

I enjoyed when Melissa found out the reasoning behind everything–like going to the library to research, and visiting the psych ward to find answers.  I love mysteries.

It was a fast read, and the ending was perfect.  I was like ‘oh no, she didn’t.”

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book, please visit:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Banishing By Fiona Dodwell

  1. Thank you very much for your kind words and your review of The Banishing. I’m glad my story has intrigued you to read more horror! One of the best genres out there 😉

    Take care,
    Fiona.

    • Hey Wendy,
      On Absolute Write, I’m AgathaChristieFan. What’s your screenname?

      I like to go under horror and women’s fiction Share Your Work–because when I critique other people’s work, it helps me find errors in my own writing. I also like the dejection/rejection posts–to see what I have to look forward to when I query my manuscript LOL. And, most of my time is spent under Blogs–to network for my own, and Writing Questions–it’s very informative in that section without me having to buy an expensive “How to Write Book”.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

