Book Review: Scream for Charity By Alex Sabo and other authors

Scream for Charity is the third book in my reading challenge.  I found ThatFantasyBlog scanning the wordpress dashboard.  The book cover and title caught my attention, so I clicked on the post; I wanted to help out charity and the horror genre interests me at the moment.  There was something intriguing about horror/thriller short stories surrounding Christmas time.  I brought this book after my reading challenge list was complete; I’m happy I did.

Here’s my thoughts on Scream for Charity by Alex Sabo and other authors:

This e-book is a compilation of five short horror/thriller stories.  The aim of this e-book is to raise money for UNICEF this Christmas time.  If you have managed to secure this e-book for free we ask only that you donate a small amount of money to UNICEF.

I found the collection very entertaining.  I was nail-biting, sitting on the edge of my seat, wanting to knock some sense into certain characters all at once.  The authors did a great job of conveying a frightening vibe within their stories, and each one had their own writing style that I appreciated.  If this is how the horror genre is, then count me in!

1.  12 Hours By Jamie Hall

I loved this story because it was so descriptive that it read like a Quentin Tarrantino movie, and everyone knows how violent, entertaining they are.  A serial killer was murdering prostitutes and strippers in Vegas.  I liked that the author opened the first scene as knowing that Sarah, the main character, was killed.  Then, throughout the rest of it, the story flashbacked to her day before it happened.  Every new scene revealed the time, so readers could count down.

The cafe scene was the scariest for me.  I was like ‘can’t this girl catch a break.  She lives with roaches, her boss stole her money, and now some crazy dude is stalking her’.  I felt so bad for her LOL.  When the killer’s name was announced, it was dun…dun…dun…Bye Sarah!

2.  A Rosary, A Fume Cabinet and a Music Book By Alex Brant

I enjoyed this story as well.  It was told in first person point-of-view through Genny’s perspective.  Her crush, a teacher, was found murdered in the school library, and she decided to play detective to guess who the culprit is.  I never knew a library nor science lab could sound so creepy or dangerous.  Bravo to the author for making me scared.

My favorite line was “Although I was not sure what to expect, as one never knows how the death so described in books will be transposed to reality, that first moment was the one in which I truly looked into Death’s menacing eyes.”  At the end, I was excited when Genny told Miss Cathy Raynor who she thought the killer was.  In my mind, there were three suspects: Genny (she seemed kind of obsessive), Miss Cathy Raynor, and Mr. Smith (the science teacher).  I’ll never know–only Genny does.  I was like WHO’S THE KILLER?  TELL ME NOW!!!  But in a good way.

3.  High Price for Hope By Rebecca Besser

Now, this story was very sad.  It was a year after the zombies arrived, and Jerrold just wanted to give his two kids and wife the Christmas they deserved.  I loved that the story opened with the two parents sitting in front of the fireplace.  It made me think of spending time with family during the holidays.  I loved the contrast of feeling warm and fuzzy to be knocked into reality that this family’s Christmas sucks LOL!

I knew trouble was coming when he said he wanted to explore the city to find food and presents.  I loved the author’s description of the store scene when she reveals two zombies–a granny and a little boy.  The image of the granny’s dentures falling out of her rotted mouth, and her pulling off the boy’s arm by accident was so nasty–in a good way.  At the end, I was like “he’s back!  He made it!  Jerrold’s so close to making it home safely!…NO, NOT THE FAMILY!!!!”

4.  The Christmas Chainsaw Massacre By Alex Sabo

This is the excerpt I read on the blog to know I wanted to buy this book.  The whole story gave me chills–I’ll never look at Santa the same way.  Michael Olsen (a.k.a. Psycho Killer) dresses up like Santa and kills a family on Christmas Day.  It shows how the day before he stalked the Thompson family.

Since the narration was written in present tense in Psycho Killer’s point-of-view (using third person POV) it was so freaky!!  I loved it!!

It was so crazy the way Michael is the local reporter, so he can broadcast his murders to the world without anyone suspecting him.  The ending gave me goosebumps; I could picture him giving a sinister smile while relishing on the fact he killed that family.  His reasoning behind murdering five families over five Christmases made me hope I’ve never pissed anyone off.  I enjoyed justice at the end–karma’s a bitch.  You’ll have to read what happens; I don’t want to give it away.

5.  The Dragon and the Moon By Katy Hulme

This story was my first sneak peek into the fantasy genre, and I didn’t mind it.  The moon, where a golden dragon claws out of, falls into Windfall Valley.  I was expecting the dragon to slay the villagers or to have their hospitality somehow bite them in the butt.  But, I was pleasantly surprised that the story had a positive ending.  The moral of it:  if people can set their differences aside, the world would be a better place where we all could get along.

I RECOMMEND this collection to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Scream for Charity By Alex Sabo and other authors

  1. Thank you Very much for the lovely words! It is very Awesome that you included us in your post!

    The That Fantasy Blog Team!

  2. Jamie Hall from That Fantasy Blog here.

    We are very glad you have enjoyed the stories in this anthology makes all the hard work worthwhile.

    From everyone who worked on this book i just want to say thank you for your support and for the kind words in this review.

    On a personal note im glad you enjoyed my story. “so descriptive that it read like a Quentin Tarrantino movie” that in particular made me smile.

    Thank You

  3. Hey Jamie,
    You’re welcome. Your book was the first horror one I read if you don’t count me reading R.L. Stine as a kid. You guys did a fabulous job of invoking a reaction out of me; my brother was like ‘what are you reading?’ LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  4. Hi,
    Firstly, thank you very much for the support of the charity e-book.
    Secondly, thank you for such a nice review!
    I’m really glad you enjoyed my story, especially since I wasn’t sure how it would work out as this is my first time at writing for ‘horror’, despite having experimented with the mystery genre before. In a weird way, I’m glad I made you scared! It feels great when an author fulfils their aim! 🙂
    Blessings,
    Alex Brant 🙂

    • Hey Alex,
      You’re welcome! Your story still sticks out in my mind. I keep wondering if Genny guessed right or if the killer was someone else. Wanna tell me LOL?

      I’ll keep thinking until I figure it out. I’m the type of person who looks up all the spoilers for my favorite shows so that I know what’s happening when the season starts. Plus, I cheat–I always read the last three pages of the book first to know the ending before I read everything else. I know I’m bad LOL.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  5. Yawatta,

    I just wanted to say how delighted I am that you enjoyed “The Dragon and the Moon” and, of course, the other stories in the collection. It has been some time since I’ve written a fantasy short, and although it was received quite well by fantasy readers, it’s always nice to know that it can be enjoyed by readers of other genres too.

    Thank you for your support with the charity e-book and happy reading!

    Katy

Leave a Reply

