Second Draft of Romance Drama Completed!!!

Yea, I finished my second draft on December 10th!  I kept it at 12-point, Arial font with 179 pages and 44,808 word count.  It’s lower than my first draft, but at least I’m satisfied with the words on the page.  That’s always a triumph!!

I gave two supporting characters name changes, added a few scenes, and expanded on others.  I still have a lot to do to get my word count up unless I query as a category romance (would need at least an additional 11,000 words).  80,000 word count for a novel is looking like a dream instead of a reality hee hee.

To show that I enjoy my plot and characters, I’ve come up with two potential titles.  I like to name my stories after songs; first option, Though I’m Missing You sung by Brandy and second option, When You’re Gone sung by Avril Lavigne.

I like where I’m at now.  The setting is in Providence, Rhode Island.  Poe hasn’t spoken to her ex in a year, but he calls because her best friend, who is his cousin, dies, so she flies out there to attend the funeral.  The story is told through Poe and Oliver’s point of view dealing with the tragedy as well as trying to get closure from one another.

Death hits home for me since I lost both my grandmothers in 2008.  This story is a dedication to them showing how I dealt with my stages of grief.  Instead of the main character dealing with a loss of a family member, I thought it’d be more interesting to have it be her best friend.

Even though it deals with a funeral at the end of the book, I wouldn’t say readers would need Kleenex throughout the whole thing; it’s not overly sappy.  Then again, one day I let my co-worker read my 300-page Graphic novel, and she was sniffling at her desk.  When she finished, I asked her what part almost made her cry.  The part she told me about was sad, but it didn’t make me cry–maybe I’m just cold-hearted (just kidding).

That’s all I can say without giving everything away, so I’ll end with I’m proud of this rough draft.  People can read it without me flinching.

Now, off to join Ladies Who Critique or Absolute Write Share Your Work.  This process of revising my rough draft will vary depending on if my critique partner likes my writing style or has a lot to complain about.  I respect honesty, and I can take any criticism.

After that, my third draft will be completed, which I’ll take my critic’s opinions under consideration, as well as apply the rules from Self-Editing for Fiction Writers.  Then, that draft will be sent off to Beta-Readers.  Wish me luck!!!

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

One thought on “Second Draft of Romance Drama Completed!!!

Leave a Reply

