“One Fine Day In The Library” by Yawatta Hosby

So I looked through my closet last night and found a folder with some of my old 12th grade creative writing assignments.

Here’s a screen play; I received a 96 A…

Yawatta Hosby

Per. 3

Nov. 18, 1999

ONE FINE DAY IN THE LIBRARY

INT. SCHOOL LIBRARY

The librarian is at the back room.  Two students are sitting at a table in the back.  Adrian is sitting near these students.  Amy is sitting on the other side of the library.

Amy works on a research paper.  Adrian reads a book, and every few seconds glances at Amy.  He picks up his book and walks to Amy’s table.  When he reaches the table, Adrian trips over his feet.  Amy giggles while Adrian sits down.

ADRIAN:

Hi, I’m Adrian.

AMY:

I know who you are.

You’re friends with my cousin.

Adrian smiles.

ADRIAN:

Have you ever read

A Tale of Two Cities?

AMY:

No, but I heard it was

a good story.

Amy looks at the book in Adrian’s hands.  She closes the encyclopedia.

AMY:

I’m going to go check out

a book.

Amy leaves the table.  Adrian sighs while watching her go to the bookshelf near her desk.  He goes to the shelf too.  Amy looks at him.  She goes back to looking for a book.

ADRIAN:

So, what kind of book

are you looking for?

AMY:

A book about dams.

ADRIAN:

I’m sorry, am I bothering you?

AMY:

No, it’s just that I’m stressed

out over my research paper on

the Riverwood fish kill that

happened thirty years ago.

ADRIAN:

Would you like to go out with

me on Friday night?

Adrian closes his eyes for a moment.  There’s silence for a few seconds.  Amy stops looking at books on the shelf.

ADRIAN (cont.):

In order to destress yourself.

I mean, I can be good company–

a perfect gentleman–if you

give me a chance.

Amy touches Adrian’s arm.  Adrian closes his eyes for a moment.

AMY:

Yes.

They both smile and look into each other’s eyes.  They hold each other’s hand and begin to walk back to Amy’s desk.  Adrian trips over his feet, causing him and Amy to fall to the floor.  They both laugh.

3 thoughts on ““One Fine Day In The Library” by Yawatta Hosby

  1. Thank you. Our teacher was a published author (wrote nonfiction books about historical Harpers Ferry) and he made us try our hand in everything from screen plays, movie synopsis, plays, poems, to short stories. I definitely learned a lot from him.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

